ASU School of Criminology and Criminal Justice
You are here: Home Careers/Internships Agencies Human Services

Human Services

View the list of human services internship partners (includes nonprofits, grassroots and private security)

Agency Supervisor Internship Details

ASU LGBTQA Services
The Pipeline Project





The Next Wave Internship Program helps strengthen the experience and skills of people of color working in the LGBT Movement.
For a complete application visit www.lgbtpipeline.org/news, or email a request for information to: nextwave@lgbtpipeline.org.

Accusearch Inc.
Investigation Company
2338 West Royal Palm Road, Suite J
Phoenix, AZ 85021-9339

Phone: 800-462-7019 or 602-249-3466
Fax: 800-632-2104 or 602-249-0821
info@accusearch.biz

Aggregator (Media Monitors) 
4233 N. 42nd Place Phoenix, AZ 85018 P.O. Box 62921 Phoenix, AZ 85082-2921

Nicholas Crowder, Editor
crowdpub@mindspring.com
Phone: (602) 789-4159

Mapping criminal events & open source intelligence

Students need to have interest in international criminal matters and have foreign language skills.

Allied Tube and Conduit Allied Barton Security Services Inc.
2525 N. 27th Ave
10851 North Black Canyon Freeway, Suite 115 Phoenix, AZ 85009


 

Amberly's Place
Victim Advocacy & Crisis Response Center
1350 W. Colorado Street
Yuma, Arizona 85364

Tori Bourguignon
Crisis Response Coordinator

 

Arizona Coalition Against Domestic Violence
2800 N. Central Ave, Suite 1570 Phoenix, Arizona 85004

 


Christa Steiner, Development and Communications Manager
christa@azcadv.org
Phone: 602.279.2900 (ext. 418)




Intern assistants with fundraising and events

This is a great opportunity for any student interested in gaining experience in non-profit event planning and fundraising, as well as gaining an overall perspective for working in the non-profit sector.

AZ Common Ground
(Re-entry services for at-risk Juvenile Offenders)
2406 S. 24th Street, E-100, P.O. Box 90990 Phoenix, AZ 85034

Frantz Beasley, President & Intern Supervisor
frantzbeasley@hotmail.com
Phone: 602-914-9000 (office)
Phone: 602-628-5058 (cell)


 

Arizona Criminal Justice Commission
1110 West Washington, #230
Phoenix, AZ 85007

Michelle Neitch
mneitch@azcjc.gov

Susan D. Preston, Human Resources Manager
spreston@azcjc.gov
Phone: 602-364-1161




Arizona Criminal Justice Commission Statistical Analysis Center (SAC)
1110 West Washington, #230
Phoenix, AZ 85007

Shana Malone
SMalone@azcjc.gov 
Phone: 602-364-1146

Phil Stevenson, Director
PStevenson@azcjc.gov

Susan D. Preston, Human Resources Manager
spreston@azcjc.gov

AZ Department of Gaming
202 E. Earll Drive Suite 200
Phoenix, AZ 85012

Rick Pyper
RickPyper@problemgambling.az.gov

Levada Coker (HR Manager)
lcocker@azgaming.gov
(602) 604-1801

AZ Department of Health

(Program Integrity and Compliance)

150 North 18th Avenue, Phoenix, Arizona 85007

Marlene Williams
Marlene.williams@azdhs.gov
(602) 364-1705

http://azdhs.gov/azwic/
Students can expect to grasp an understanding of the regulatory and statutory law environment and ensuring program integrity & compliance through investigative processes at the retail and individual level. Specifically, our efforts concentrate on Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) compliance and program enforcement at the retail and individual levels.

Interns will be hosted on an as-needed basis.

Arizona Justice Project
Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law
P.O. Box 875920 Tempe, AZ 85287-5920

Katie Puzauskas, Executive Co-Director, Attorney Case Coordinator
katherine.puzauskas@asu.edu
Phone: 602-258-1702


 

Arizona Voice for Crime Victims
13870 N. 98th Place Scottsdale, Arizona 85260

Steve Twist
Internship Supervisor
steve_twist@sgagroup.com
Phone: 602-418-8782
Shadowing, research and writing
Bank of America Fraud Department

1825 E. Buckeye Rd
Phoenix, AZ 85034
Joe Villavelazquez Fraud Officer
joe.villavelazquez@bankofamerica.com
(602) 597-5278 1825

 

Banner Desert Medical Center Security
1400 S Dobson Rd. Mesa, AZ. 85202

Jim Hopper Director
Banner Desert Security
Phone: (480) 412-5828

Best Buddies Arizona Program

Timothy Lhotka
Program Supervisor
timothylhotka@bestbuddies.org
www.bestbuddiesarizona.org


Blight Busters
City of Phoenix
Neighborhood Services

William Hogans
Program Coordinator


 

California Highway Patrol
6300 Bristol Parkway, Culver City, CA 90230

Tara Lewis, Intern Supervisor
Phone: 310-642-3939
TALewis@chp.ga.gov

 

Center for Violence Prevention Community Safety
University Center
411 N. Central Ave
Phoenix, AZ 85004

Sherie Casillas
sherie.casillas@asu.edu
Phone: (602) 496-1470

David Choate
David.Choate@asu.edu
Phone: (602) 496-1473
 

City of Phoenix Fire Department, Community Assistance Program
4056 E. Washington Street
Phoenix, AZ 85034

Bob Winters, Case Manager

D.C. Ernst, Volunteer Recruiter/Supervisor
dolores.ernst@phoenix.gov
Phone: 602-534-5329

City of Phoenix
Victims Services
PO Box 4600 Phoenix, AZ 85030

Michael Noyd
michael.noyd@phoenix.gov
Phone:  602-534-1929 (Office)
Phone: 602-534-4540 (Fax)

David's Hope



Steven R. Isham M.A., L.B.S.W.
Isham623@aol.com
2402 N. 112th Lane
Avondale, Arizona 85392
Phone: (623) 907-2828
 Click here for more details.
 Click here for more details.

De Colores Domestic Violence Shelter
PO Box 6553 Phoenix, AZ 85005

Mariel Castro, MSW, LCSW
Program Manager
Phone: (602) 269-1515
Alejandro.palacious@cplc.org

Disney College Program Education (Security Professional Development Studies)

Vista Way Apartments, Suite 703, 13501 Meadowcreek Drive Oralando, FL 32821-6869

Phone: 407.827.1244
Fax: 407.560.8899



Emeritus at Phoenix Assisted Living Community
(Security internship)
4050 East Bluefield Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85032

Michelle Morgan, Executive Director
Phoenix-ED@emeritus.com
Phone: (623) 262-4816



 For More Information Click Here

Family Advocacy Center
2120 North Central Avenue Phoenix, AZ 85004-1453

Terri Roza
terri.roza@phoenix.gov
Phone: (602) 534-2120

Florence Crittenton
Group Home for Girls)
715 W. Mariposa St. Phoenix, AZ 85013

Barbara Castillo Volunteer Services Manager
bcastillo@flocrit.org
Phone: (602) 288-4567
Fax - (602) 274-7549

Franklin High School
Law Enforcement Program

Gloria Snider
Franklin High School District office
snider@phxhs.k12.az.us

Free Arts of Arizona
Weekly Mentor Program MAC Camp
103 West Highland Avenue, Suite 200 Phoenix, AZ 85013

Jessica Flowers, Program Manager
jflowers@freeartaz.org
(602) 258-8100 ext. 20
Phone: (602) 258-8100
Fax: (602) 258-1881

Fresh Start Community Services
(Co-Ed Prisoner Re-Entry)
1008 E Buckeye Rd #125  Phoenix, AZ 85034

Bruce Relf, CEO/Founder
doorway@fresh-start.org
Phone: 623-931-2801(office)

Lin Horne, Executive Director
Phone: 623-931-2903
lin@fresh-start.org

Future for KIDS
(Non profit for at-risk youth)
6991 E. Camelback Rd. Suite D-301 Scottsdale, AZ 85251

Madonna Bistany
Internship Coordinator
Phone: (480) 947-8131

GINA'S TEAM
(helps needs of female inmates)
PO Box 36 Scottsdale, AZ 85252

Sue Ellen Allen
Founder
ginastream@hotmail.com

Girl Scouts Arizona Cactus
Pine Council's Just Us Department
119 East Coronado Road Phoenix, AZ, 85004-1512

Barbara Strachan, Just Us Program Manager
barbstrachan@girlscoutsaz.org 
Phone: 602-452-7107
Intern Eligibility Requirements:
-Must Be Female
-Must Be 21 Years of Age or Older
-Must Commit to At Least 1 Academic Semester
-Must Be Able to Pass Background Clearance Process

Glendale Community College Administrative of Justice Department
6000 W. Olive Ave
Glendale, AZ 85302

 

 

Paul Brown, Program Director Administrative Of Justice Department
paul.brown@gcmail.maricopa.edu
Phone: 623-845-3913

Jeffeory Hynes
Jeff.hynes@gcmail.maricopa.edu
 

Glendale Fire Department’s Crisis Response Program
5800 W. Glenn Dr., Suite 350
Glendale, AZ 85301


Sara E. Steffen, MSW CR Student/Intern Coordinator
sesteffen@glendaleaz.com
Phone: 623-330-1264 (cell)
Phone: 623-930-4454 (office)
Phone: 623-847-5315 (fax)




Guardian Review Program
Superior Court of Arizona Maricopa County

Leticia Rios
Guardian Review Program Coordinator
Probate Court Investigations
Direct Phone 602-372-0429
riosl@superiorcourt.maricopa.gov

More information

Application

ICAN: Positive Programs for Youth
650 E. Morelos St. Chandler, AZ 85225

Shelby Pederson
Director of Resource Development
shelby@icanaz.org



 

Kaity's Way
(Provides help to children in violent relationships)P.O. Box 83494 Phoenix, AZ 85071

Bobbi Sudberry
kw08@kaitysway.org



Click here for more details



Layne Security LLC- Professional Security
PO Box 478
Buckeye, AZ 85236-0478

 Layne Slapper
Slapperuop@aol.com
Phone:  623-377-6847



 

Lodestar Day Resource Center (Homelessness)

1125 W. Jackson St. Phoenix, AZ 85007

Dawn Shires Volunteer Coordinator & Program Development
dshiire@lodestardrc.org
Phone: (602) 393-9930
Fax: (602) 258-4615
 

McCain Institute for International Leadership

The McCain Institute for International Leadership at Arizona State University

1777 F Street, Suite 600 Washington, DC 20006

Click here for information.  If you would like to apply for a McCain Institute summer internship, please email in a single PDF document a cover letter, a resume, short writing sample (two pages max), and two references to: info@mccaininstitute.org. In the subject lineof the email please indicate which internship position you are applying for specifically. Applications for Summer 2014 are being accepted on a rolling basis until March 26, 2014.

Mayberry Mitigation Services
2040 South Alma School Road Suite #1,PMB #150
Chandler, AZ 85286

Ty Mayberry
Owner
Phone:602-628-5968


 

Mesa Boys & Girls Club

221 W 6th Ave Mesa, AZ 85210
Chris
Phone: 480-844-0963

 

Mesa Community College Public Safety
1833 W. Southern Avenue, SC-14 Mesa, AZ 85202

Steve Corich MCC Public Saftey Director
steve.corich@mcmail.maricopa.edu
Phone: (480) 461-7046

MHA Consulting Inc.
Private Consulting Firm
3820 W. Happy Valley Road, Suite # 141-501
Glendale, AZ 85310

Brandon Magestro
Director of Operations
Magestro@mha-it.com
Phone: 907-748-4024


 Click Here For Details

MOMA'S House
Domestic Violence Shelter
PO Box 860
Laveen, AZ 85339

Maraion Douglas
Founder/CEO
momahouse@g.com
Phone: 480-560-7407

Click Here For Details

Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD)
2345 East Thomas Road #350
Phoenix, AZ 85016

Kelley Dupps
Intern Supervisor
kelley.dupps@madd.org 
Phone: 602-240-6504


 

Musical Instrument Museum
Security Team
4725 East Mayo Boulevard
Phoenix, AZ 85050

Brittany Roche
Intern Coordinator
brittany.roche@mim.org
480.245.6932


 

Office of the Public Defender
620 W. Jackson St. Suite 4015
Phoenix, AZ 85003

Pamela Mudryj
Capital Mitigation Specialist
MudryjP@mail.maricopa.gov
Phone: 602-506-7711 ext. 32538

 

Our Family
2590 N. Alvernon Way
Tucson, AZ 85712


Libby Leggett
Development & Volunteer Manager
lleggett@ourfamilyservices.org
Phone: (520) 323-1708 x 416

 http://www.ourfamilyservices.org/volunteer.html

ORAM- Organization for Refuge, Asylum & Migration
39 Drumm Street, 4th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94111

Okan Sengun Legal education and Volunteer Coordinator
senguno@oraminternational.org
Tel: 1-415-399-1701
Fax: 1-415-373-9191

Phoenix Fire Department- Victim Assistance Crisis Intervention
150 S. 12th St.
Phoenix, AZ 85034

Don Peyton
Phone: 602-261-8849
Fax: 602-534-3608




Playworks
(Youth physical education non profit)
2701 E. Osborn Rd., Suite 101, Phoenix, AZ 85016

Amber Johnson
Program Associate
ajohnson@playworks.org

Jamie Aiken, Executive Director
jaiken@playworks.org
Phone: 480-525-6566
Agency website address: www.playworks.org/phoenix

Type of Organization: Non-profit

For More Information Click Here
 

Police Activities League (PAL)
12500 SW Allen Boulevard
Beaverton, Oregon 97005

Bruce Leomiti
Volunteer Coordinator
palbeaverton@gmail.com
Phone: 503-469-9137
 

Project YES!: Youth Extension Service
(Youth development program)
Raleigh, NC

JC Johnson
Director
james_johnson@ncsu.edu
Phone: 919-513-3165



 
For More Information Click Here 

Release the Fear
(Combating fear through creative processes)
P.O. Box 3815 Phoenix, Arizona 85030

Robert Miley, CEO
info@releasethefear.org
Phone: 602-818-6959

 

Please include contact phone number when inquiring by email

Rix Private Investigators

10934 E. Arizona Farms Rd.
Florence, AZ 85132

Rick Roy
Owner and Qualifying Party

ASU-Intern@RixInvestigators.com

Phone: (480) 398-6115
www.RixInvestigators.Com

 
Rocky Mountain Information Network, Inc. (RMIN)

PO Box 41370 
Phoenix, AZ 85080


 Sheri Ferguson
sferguson@rmin.net
Intern Supervisor
Intel/Watch Center Supervisor

Phone: 800-821-0640 ext. 152 or 
Phone: 623-587-8201 ex. 152
 

Shepherd of the Valley UMC Feeding the Homeless Project Outreach Activities

Deborah Schauer
pastor@sovumc.phxcoxmail.com

 
St. Vincent de Paul

Mike Korte    
Corporate Relations Manager    
MKorte@svdp-phx-az.org
Phone: (602) 850-6733
 

Sojourner Center-
Domestic Violence Shelter & Services


 E. Beth Rodriguez
brodriguez@sojournercenter.org
Community Partnerships Coordinator

Phone: 602-258-0331 ext. 227 (office)
Phone: 602-253-6904 (Cell)
 

South Mountain YMCA- Community Initiatives Division Juvenile Offender Program
222 East Olympic Drive 
Phoenix, AZ 85042

Latoya Evans
Directorlevans@vlsymca.org
Direct/Message (602) 212-6027
Cell (602) 478-3143E-mail
ravila@vosymca.orgvalleyYMCA.org

 

Southwest Key Programs
Unaccompanied Minors Shelter, Phoenix & Glendale
National Headquarters
6002 Jain Lane Austin, Texas 78721

Intern Coordinator

Phone: 512.462.2181 (office)
Phone: 512.462.2028 (fax)
info@swkey.org


 

Tanner Community Development Corporation (TCDC)
700 East Jefferson Street, Suite 200
Phoenix, AZ 85034

Rev. Arnold Jackson
CEO/Executive Director
arnoldjackson@tcdccorp.org

Robert Young, Program Director
robertyoung@tcdccorp.org
Phone: 602-253-6904
 

Target Stores Inventory Management (Prevention of theft and fraud)
8550 S Priest Drive Tempe, AZ 85284

Katie Tiano Campus Recruiter
Katie.Tiano@target.com
Phone: 480-533-6124

Tucker Investigations and Protection Services
5106 N. 34th Way
Phoenix, Arizona 85018

Don Tucker
dontuckerbooks@gmail.com
Phone: 480-205-7696


 

Tungland Corporation
4820 N. 89th Ave #51 Phoenix, AZ 85037

 

Bessie Thomas
House Manager
blt0408@yahoo.com
Phone: 623-202-1453

 

Residential Counseling and Behavioral Services
Have to be an employee with the company because of the strict privacy policy

Universal Protective Services http://www.universalpro.com
3030 N. Central Ave #508 Phoenix, AZ 85012
Kevin Thomas, Sr.
Operations Manager
Phone: 602-778-6700
 
Document Actions
Personal tools